Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

The Cat on the Mat is Flat by [Andy Griffiths, Terry Denton]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Cat on the Mat is Flat Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 115 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Review

Praise for "The Cat on the Mat is Flat":

"Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor . . . Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages." --"School Library Journal"

"Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse . . . Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor." --"Publishers Weekly"

"Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey and a bit of Cartoon Network juice . . . meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals." --The Excelsior File (blog)

"Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's "Happy Hockey Family,"" --"Kirkus Reviews"

"This collection of stories is fun albeit with a touch of mayhem . . . This is a good book for beginning readers, in the same vein as "The Cat in the Hat" and "The Cat in the Hat Comes Back," It will likely spark a new rhyming nation of happy youngsters, some of whom will grow up to write their generation's outrageously funny advertising jingles . . . Any beginning reader will find it charmingly slapstick and fun." --Armchair Interviews

Praise for "The Cat on the Mat is Flat":


"Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor . . . Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages." --"School Library Journal"


"Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse . . . Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor." --"Publishers Weekly"


"Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey and a bit of Cartoon Network juice . . . meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals." --The Excelsior File (blog)


"Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's "Happy Hockey Family,"" --"Kirkus Reviews"


"This collection of stories is fun albeit with a touch of mayhem . . . This is a good book for beginning readers, in the same vein as "The Cat in the Hat" and "The Cat in the Hat Comes Back," It will likely spark a new rhyming nation of happy youngsters, some of whom will grow up to write their generation's outrageously funny advertising jingles . . . Any beginning reader will find it charmingly slapstick and fun." --Armchair Interviews


"Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor....Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages."--"School Library Journal" "Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse....Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor."--"Publishers Weekly" .,."meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals." - The Excelsior File / blog "Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's "Happy Hockey Family,"" - "Kirkus Reviews"

"As a teacher, I have already found this book an excellent starting point for children to understand rhyme. In class, the children wanted to try their own funny stories." "Griffiths's ("The Day My Butt Went Psycho!") innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse...Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor." - Publishers Weekly .,."meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals." - The Excelsior File / blog .,."perfect for fans of Lane Smith's Happy Hockey Family." - Kirkus

--This text refers to the library edition.

From the Publisher

<p>Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton are a creative partnership that began in earnest with <b><em>Just Tricking!</em></b> in 1997 and now extends to five <b>Just</b> books and over a million copies sold, and the award-winning <b><em>Bad Book</em></b>. They are now published all over the world including the US where Andy's <b>Bum</b> books have made the <em>New York Times</em> bestseller lists.</p> --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B003R50B72
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Macmillan Australia (10 November 2007)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 6364 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 135 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 115 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Andy Griffiths is Terry's best mate. He is also Australia's number-one children's author. His books, including the popular Treehouse series, have been hugely successful internationally, winning awards and becoming bestsellers in the UK and the USA as well as in his homeland, Australia. Andy thrives on having an audience: he has worked as a high-school teacher, been the lead singer in a rock band and a stand-up comedian. He is a passionate advocate for literacy, has two daughters and lives in Melbourne, Australia.

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
115 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 16 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

Amazon カスタマー
5.0 out of 5 stars ありがとうございました
Reviewed in Japan on 10 December 2015
Verified Purchase
DMR
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cat in the Hat is Flat
Reviewed in the United States on 11 December 2010
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
tallmama
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect For Profound Dyslexic
Reviewed in the United States on 19 April 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
James L
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for kids who are learning to read.
Reviewed in the United States on 1 March 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
HeatherR
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book For New Readers!
Reviewed in the United States on 20 March 2016
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book For New Readers!
Reviewed in the United States on 20 March 2016
This is the first book my daughter read alone! She has struggled with dyslexia and low confidence due to reading delays. This "big kid" book boosted her confidence so much! She couldn't put it down and carried it with her everywhere. I also ordered The Big Fat Cow That Goes Kapow. She has read them both in two days! This is huge! Thank you for helping her see the magic and joy of reading.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer image
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?