Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership
Buy new:
$18.99
RRP: $24.99

Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
Save: $6.00 (24%)
In stock.
[{"displayPrice":"$18.99","priceAmount":18.99,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"18","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"99","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"dTf4SalKkJN4jX1O38yyAY2%2BxsftHZu0HxkQCK%2F7XLugrvdXvBQVT0dR9ebcUBTZbDYAKpYeTID7I%2BuTo%2Fj4RakOUx9UljG7TKY8PPkEaXkhl%2F3oRdqz%2BHyXo%2B5L5D2T18wp%2B0aWqlZShAVsgUi8Gwygq6l492FI","locale":"en-AU","buyingOptionType":"NEW"}]
$$18.99 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$18.99
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
Share <Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$29.74
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: The Nile Australia
Sold by: The Nile Australia
(5433 ratings)
86% positive over last 12 months
Only 3 left in stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Added
$31.60
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Sold by: Book Depository UK
(34591 ratings)
89% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Added
$31.79
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: BuyWorldwide
Sold by: BuyWorldwide
Just launched
In stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Charm Offensive: A Novel Paperback – 1 October 2021

4.5 out of 5 stars 2,046 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$18.99
$18.99

Enhance your purchase

New children's books bundles!
Book bundles for children's growth and development. Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • The Charm Offensive: A Novel
  • +
  • Boyfriend Material: 2
  • +
  • If This Gets Out
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

From the Publisher

Product description

Review

“Alison Cochrun’s debut is a gift, as fizzy and intoxicating as the champagne they ply reality dating contestants with… Charm Offensive is wondrous—a heart-in-your-throat romance that pulls you intractably into its orbit… Cochrun makes her debut with this title, but she proves amply to romance lovers that she's here for the right reasons. To quote a former Bachelorette, she did the damn thing. And then some.”Entertainment Weekly

“Cochrun’s polished, smart, and delightful debut romance delivers all the quintessential feel-good moments of a great romcom... In between the meet-cute, quippy banter, and red-hot sexual chemistry, Cochrun also offers readers a thoughtful and caring exploration of gay love and the mental health struggles people with social anxiety and depression deal with every day.”
Booklist (starred review)

"Fans of 'The Bachelor' will fall in love with Cochrun’s sweet spin on a reality dating show....
The Charm Offensive urges readers to scrutinize which love stories get told in Hollywood and pushes for a future where everyone gets to see themselves living happily ever after." —USA Today

"A swoon-worthy debut." 
—Harper's Bazaar

"The Charm Offensive is a heartwarming rom-com with unforgettable characters who will challenge you to see love in a new light. Set behind the scenes of the fictional TV show Ever After, Alison Cochrun is unafraid to flip reality TV's tired tropes into fresh storylines. With entertaining insight into how the happily-ever-after sausage gets made and nuanced discussions about mental health and sexuality, this witty, moving page-turner is nothing short of delightful. Networks would be wise to take cues from Cochrun's ode to reality TV romance."
Hannah Orenstein, author of Head Over Heels

"This book is my new obsession. As a longtime (and long-suffering) 
Bachelor fan, I grinned at all the winks to the franchise, cheered at the subversions of reality TV tropes, and grew faint as Dev and Charlie danced closer to embracing their true feelings—and even truer selves. Heart-stoppingly romantic and radiantly empathetic." —Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of The Ex Talk

"
The Charm Offensive will sweep you off your feet." —PopSugar

“[R]eaders seeking romance that prioritizes inclusive explorations of sexual identity and mental illness will treasure this.” 
Publishers Weekly

“With its lush locales and LGBTQ and BIPOC representation, this novel shines, especially for readers underrepresented or underappreciated in mainstream romance. For fans of Kate Stayman-London’s 
One To Watch and Casey McQuiston’s Red, White & Royal Blue.”Library Journal

“Alison Cochrun twines an earnest exploration of mental health and sexuality through a truly mem­orable love story… Cochrun’s clever behind-the-scenes glimpses of ‘Ever After’ will delight reality TV fans, but it’s 
The Charm Offensive’s tenderness and deep, believable emotion that will linger in readers’ hearts.” BookPage (starred review)

“Perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston and Cat Sebastian
 . . . . The Charm Offensive is a funny, diverse, subversive romance that brings an unexpected happily ever after to a reality dating show.” —Shelf Awareness

“[N]ot just a fluffy LGBTQ+ rom-com. It starts out looking as though it might be a scathing satirical sendup of reality TV romance dating franchises, then subtly segues into a searing exploration of gender identity, sexism and mental health... The Charm Offensive succeeds in becoming an enthralling, entertaining and thought-provoking novel.”
 —Portland Oregonian

“This book is special. It is sweet and funny, the way rom-com novels ought to be, but it’s also deeply honest about the human experience.” 
—Book Reporter

About the Author

Alison Cochrun is a former high school English teacher and a current writer of queer love stories, including her debut novel, The Charm Offensive. She lives outside of Portland, Oregon with her giant dog and a vast collection of brightly colored books. You can find her online at AlisonCochrun.com or on Instagram and Twitter at @AlisonCochrun.

New children's books bundles!
Book bundles for children's growth and development. Shop now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Atria Books (1 October 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 368 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1982170719
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1982170714
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.49 x 2.54 x 20.96 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,046 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Alison Cochrun is a high school English teacher living outside Portland, Oregon. When she's not reading and writing queer love stories, you can find her torturing teenagers with Shakespeare, crafting perfect travel itineraries, hate-watching reality dating shows, and searching for the best happy hour nachos. You can find her on Instagram or at her website www.alisoncochrun.com

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
2,046 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 13 December 2021
Verified Purchase
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 21 June 2022
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 3 November 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 4 December 2021
Reviewed in Australia on 23 October 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Cee Bee
3.0 out of 5 stars The Charm Offensive -A Novel
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 April 2022
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Frankie
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read, up until the very end
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 November 2021
Verified Purchase
KH
5.0 out of 5 stars A real Ever After
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 June 2022
Verified Purchase
Leaboy
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming and not at all offensive
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 June 2022
Verified Purchase
M. A. Crehan
5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 August 2022
Verified Purchase