Buy new:
$41.40
$3.00 delivery: 23 Feb - 2 March
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
[{"displayPrice":"$41.40","priceAmount":41.40,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"41","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"40","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"f42vfngYmRNvlYLH0nJHCSsSIT24GONH7PFFlXPvAZguLy0Y5rxTHaIz9E4tFKMvTdssVhxer9NLuBYgUgaRzO%2FOKtKJSNOTTphFB3l8V1wAsFQRfSf9RWRch%2B0stHb2GnpUwti6kx3MNVfptkBQ%2B6CoqhXMkLgW1fE3HIxhq80ywf1JYmUX9y%2BBddAC1zJZ","locale":"en-AU","buyingOptionType":"NEW"}]
$$41.40 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$41.40
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
RarewavesUSA
Sold by
Ships from
RarewavesUSA
Sold by
Share <Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$44.39
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Sold by: Book Depository UK
(33804 ratings)
91% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Added
$50.17
+ $6.32 Delivery
Sold by: Prestivo-France
Sold by: Prestivo-France
(689 ratings)
90% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Added
$60.22
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Bahamut Media Ltd AU
Sold by: Bahamut Media Ltd AU
(118 ratings)
72% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 6 to 10 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Conversations with Friends Hardcover – 11 July 2017

3.9 out of 5 stars 9,359 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$41.40
$41.40

Enhance your purchase

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • Conversations with Friends
  • +
  • Normal People
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
One of these items is shipped sooner than the other.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

"Smart and perceptive."--Minneapolis Star-Tribune

"The self-deceptions of a new generation are at the core of Sally Rooney's debut, Conversations with Friends, which captures something wonderfully odd-cornered and real in the story of an Irish millennial."--Megan O'Grady, Vogue

"A bracing, miraculous debut."--The Millions

"Sally Rooney's debut novel is a remarkably charming exploration of that very uncharming subject: the human ego. . . . Conversations with Friends sparkles with controlled rhetoric. But it ends up emphasizing the truths exploding in the silences."--Slate

"Rooney's exploration of growing out of naïveté is true to life, sometimes painfully so, and anyone who has thrived on created drama, who has imagined higher stakes than exist, will see a bit of themselves."--BuzzFeed

"An insightful look at what it's like to be young, smart, and deeply confused about friendship and love . . . It's like an Ask Polly letter in the form of a novel, in the best possible way."--The Cut

"Rooney expertly captures what it's like to be young today: the conversations flow seamlessly from email to text message to unspoken glance, the sexual and creative confidence, the admiration for older men who write emails written in all lowercase. Her first person narrator, the twenty-one-year-old Frances, is a constant, careful observer, and yet Rooney leaves room for the reader to see all the things Frances herself does not."--The Paris Review

"In this searing, insightful debut, Rooney offers an unapologetic perspective on the vagaries of relationships . . . a treatise on married life, the impact of infidelity, the ramifications of one's actions, and how the person one chooses to be with can impact one's individuality. Throughout, Rooney's descriptive eye lends beauty and veracity to this complex and vivid story."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Readers who enjoyed Belinda McKeon's Tender and Caitriona Lally's Eggshells will enjoy this exceptional debut."--Library Journal (starred review)

"A smart, sexy, realistic portrayal of a woman finding herself."--Booklist (starred review)

"[Sally] Rooney has managed to take something old, the romance novel, and make it new: Frances is a bisexual communist student, allergic to expressing emotion, and her love affair is with a married man, and yet the book makes no attempt to make a moral stand on fidelity or punish its characters for their passions. The effect is, frankly, riveting, and creates a peculiar sensation of danger. An addictive read."--Rufi Thorpe, author of The Girls from Corona del Mar and Dear Fang, with Love

"Sally Rooney's writing is cool, wry, and smooth and gives the reader a sense of being in the lucky position of overhearing not only what fascinating strangers are talking about, but also what they're thinking. I was riveted 'til the last page."--Emily Gould, author of Friendship

About the Author

Sally Rooney was born in the west of Ireland in 1991. Her work has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times, Granta and The London Review of Books. Winner of the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award, she is the author of Conversations with Friends. In 2019, she was named to the inaugural Time 100 Next list.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Hogarth Press (11 July 2017)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0451499050
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0451499059
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 14.73 x 2.54 x 21.84 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.9 out of 5 stars 9,359 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

SALLY ROONEY was born in the west of Ireland in 1991. Her work has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times, Granta and The London Review of Books. Winner of the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award in 2017, she is the author of Conversations with Friends and the editor of the Irish literary journal The Stinging Fly.

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5
9,359 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 2 January 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 5 September 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 13 January 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 27 July 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 20 April 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 9 June 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 28 May 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 1 March 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Adam K.
1.0 out of 5 stars Surely Some Mistake?
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 April 2019
Verified Purchase
391 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Molly
1.0 out of 5 stars The reviews on the cover are wrong
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 October 2018
Verified Purchase
267 people found this helpful
Report abuse
S. Gleeson
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible characters and storyline
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 January 2019
Verified Purchase
193 people found this helpful
Report abuse
P. G. Harris
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply human and humane
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 September 2018
Verified Purchase
131 people found this helpful
Report abuse
C Heath
2.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful writing, pedestrian story-telling
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 September 2018
Verified Purchase
78 people found this helpful
Report abuse