Buying Options

Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $10.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by [J.K. Rowling]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 39,364 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$10.99
Board book
$42.70

New children's books bundles!
Book bundles for children's growth and development. Shop now
Next 5 for you in this series See full series
$54.95 includes tax, if applicable
By clicking on the buy button, your order will be finalised and you agree to the Kindle store terms of use.
Sold by: Pottermore Limited
Price set by publisher.

Product description

Review

"Surely the vilest household in children's literature since the family Roald Dahl created for Matilda. Harry himself is the perfect confused and unassuming hero." --School Library Journal, starred review --This text refers to the audioCD edition.

Book Description

It's time to PASS THE MAGIC ON - with brand new children's editions of the classic and internationally bestselling series --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B019PIOJY0
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Pottermore Publishing (8 December 2015)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 4229 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 373 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 39,364 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

J.K. Rowling is best-known as the author of the seven Harry Potter books, which were published between 1997 and 2007. The enduringly popular adventures of Harry, Ron and Hermione have gone on to sell over 600 million copies, be translated into over 80 languages and made into eight blockbuster films.

Alongside the Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling also wrote three short companion volumes for charity: Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, in aid of Comic Relief, and The Tales of Beedle the Bard, in aid of Lumos. The companion books and original series are all available as audiobooks.

In 2016, J.K. Rowling collaborated with playwright Jack Thorne and director John Tiffany to continue Harry’s story in a stage play, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, which opened in London, followed by the USA and Australia.

In the same year, she made her debut as a screenwriter with the film Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Inspired by the original companion volume, it was the first in a series of new adventures featuring wizarding world magizoologist Newt Scamander. The second, Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, was released in 2018 and the third, Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore was released in April 2022.

The screenplays, as well as the script of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, are also available as books.

Fans of Fantastic Beasts and Harry Potter can find out more at www.wizardingworld.com.

J.K. Rowling also writes novels for adults. The Casual Vacancy was published in 2012 and adapted for television in 2015. Under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith, she is the author of the highly acclaimed ‘Strike’ crime series, featuring private detective Cormoran Strike and his partner Robin Ellacott. The first of these, The Cuckoo’s Calling, was published to critical acclaim in 2013, at first without its author’s true identity being known. The Silkworm followed in 2014, Career of Evil in 2015, Lethal White in 2018 and Troubled Blood in 2020. All of the books have been adapted for television by the BBC and HBO. The sixth book in the series, Ink Black Heart, is published in August 2022.

J.K. Rowling’s 2008 Harvard Commencement speech was published in 2015 as an illustrated book, Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination, sold in aid of Lumos and university-wide financial aid at Harvard.

In 2020, J.K. Rowling released in free online instalments, The Ickabog, an original fairy tale, which she wrote over ten years ago as a bedtime story for her younger children. She decided to share the personal family favourite to help entertain children, parents and carers confined at home during the Covid-19 lockdown.

The story is now published as a book (hardback, ebook and audio) in the English language, and is translated into 26 languages, each edition with its own unique illustrations by children. J.K. Rowling is donating her royalties from The Ickabog to her charitable trust, The Volant Charitable Trust, to assist vulnerable groups who have been particularly impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic in the UK and internationally.

J.K. Rowling’s latest children’s novel, The Christmas Pig, is out now. Illustrated by Jim Field, it’s the story of a little boy called Jack, and his beloved toy, Dur Pig, and the toy that replaces Dur Pig when he’s lost on Christmas Eve – the Christmas Pig. Together, Jack and the Christmas Pig embark on a magical journey to seek something lost, and to save the best friend Jack has ever known.

As well as receiving an OBE and Companion of Honour for services to children’s literature, J.K. Rowling has received many other awards and honours, including France’s Legion d’Honneur, Spain’s Prince of Asturias Award and Denmark’s Hans Christian Andersen Award.

www.jkrowling.com

Image: Photography Debra Hurford Brown © J.K. Rowling

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
39,364 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 18 July 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 16 March 2022
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 2 August 2022
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 7 October 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 18 January 2017
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 5 August 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 17 January 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 19 February 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Gagan
1.0 out of 5 stars Discount over increased price
Reviewed in India on 10 February 2018
Verified Purchase
149 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Djilly L.
5.0 out of 5 stars Life at Hogwarts isn’t all wizard-candy and quidditch
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 January 2019
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Life at Hogwarts isn’t all wizard-candy and quidditch
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 January 2019
What is there left to comment on a Harry Potter book, ? Well… my little bookworm’s comments; "I very much enjoyed this book as she tells me there is lots of action, fantasy, friendship and cleverness needed by the main characters to solve the mystery". Her favourite parts of the story are those with the house-elf Dobby, Ron’s slug burbs and Harry being dragged into Tom Riddle’s diary to a time 50 years earlier when Harry’s friend Hagrid was expelled from Hogwarts".

The Chamber of Secrets is the mystery story where Hogwarts muggle students turn into stone. And it lays much more of a foundation of the larger story than the first book. This is where Tom Riddle is introduced and where he turns into Voldemort to fight Harry. Several interesting new characters make their first appearance as well in this book; vain Professor Lockhart and Colin Creevy. And a troublesome spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls' bathroom. Of course Harry’s old enemies, Malfoy and Snape, have a prominent role. There is an interesting underlying theme of muggle-hatred that fed to some healthy discussion with my daughter.

This is my 8-year old daughter’s second ‘real’ book, as she proudly calls it – as this is a hard cover bound book that is very different than her vast collection of colourful girly picture books. I must say the colourful hard-cover version is actually quite nice and will last subsequent reading when the owner's little brother is bound to pick it op in due course.

Our daughter has seen all the Harry Potter movies, which she thoroughly enjoyed. So she has now started to read the first few books. The books are great and she is quite encouraged to actually pick it up and continue the read - as there is lots of additional Potterish detail and trivia left out from the movies that she is keen to pick up. Given that we got a her an overpriced Hermione wand, she is particularly interested in the spells. And she found a number of entertaining story elements like part of the ‘wizard's duel’ that never made it into the movie.

In the end the book is highly relatable to kids as it describes the big and small challenges that kids face every day. It shows how the characters deal with unfairness, anxiety and how boring and challenging school can be.

Somehow I have the feeling this is one of those children's books my daughter will read and reread into adulthood.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer image
21 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Derek Thorburn
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter And The Chamber Of Secrets Kindle Book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 January 2019
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Keerthi Chandra
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it
Reviewed in India on 4 January 2017
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it
Reviewed in India on 4 January 2017
Harry potter series are the best and this part is the most interesting among all.It worth reading more than twice.Lovely quality and amazon please provide bookmarks.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
112 people found this helpful
Report abuse
jo anne laws
4.0 out of 5 stars The Secret Behind the Chamber of Secrets.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 January 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?