Buying Options

Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership. Learn more
Read for $0.00
This eBook is also available to read for $0.00 for Prime members. Learn More
OR
Kindle Price: $3.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone by [J.K. Rowling]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 49,332 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$3.99

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Review

A marriage made in heaven, Stephen Fry reading Harry Potter ― The Times

One of the greatest literary adventures of modern times ―
Sunday Telegraph

Spellbinding, enchanting, bewitching stuff ―
Mirror --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Review

'J.K.Rowling has woken up a whole generation to reading' The Times 'The most remarkable publishing sensation for a generation ... the story is told with such momentum, imagination and irrepressible humour that it can captivate both adults and children' Sunday Express 'The Harry Potter books are that rare thing, a series of stories adored by parents and children alike' Daily Telegraph 'Hooray for Harry Potter ... [Harry's] adventures are as funny as Roald Dahl's stories and as vivid as Narnia books - and adults seem to enjoy them as much as their children' Daily Mail --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B019PIOJYU
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Pottermore Publishing (8 December 2015)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 3734 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 345 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 49,332 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

J.K. Rowling is best-known as the author of the seven Harry Potter books, which were published between 1997 and 2007. The enduringly popular adventures of Harry, Ron and Hermione have gone on to sell over 500 million copies, be translated into over 80 languages and made into eight blockbuster films.

Alongside the Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling also wrote three short companion volumes for charity: Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, in aid of Comic Relief, and The Tales of Beedle the Bard, in aid of Lumos. The companion books and original series are all available as audiobooks.

In 2016, J.K. Rowling collaborated with playwright Jack Thorne and director John Tiffany to continue Harry’s story in a stage play, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, which opened in London, followed by the USA and Australia.

In the same year, she made her debut as a screenwriter with the film Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Inspired by the original companion volume, it was the first in a series of new adventures featuring wizarding world magizoologist Newt Scamander. The second, Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, was released in 2018 and the third, Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore is to be released in April 2022.

Both the screenplays, as well as the script of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, are also available as books.

Fans of Fantastic Beasts and Harry Potter can find out more at www.wizardingworld.com.

J.K. Rowling also writes novels for adults. The Casual Vacancy was published in 2012 and adapted for television in 2015. Under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith, she is the author of the highly acclaimed ‘Strike’ crime series, featuring private detective Cormoran Strike and his partner Robin Ellacott. The first of these, The Cuckoo’s Calling, was published to critical acclaim in 2013, at first without its author’s true identity being known. The Silkworm followed in 2014, Career of Evil in 2015 and Lethal White in 2018. All four books have been adapted for television by the BBC and HBO. The fifth book, Troubled Blood, is now out and was also an instant bestseller.

J.K. Rowling’s 2008 Harvard Commencement speech was published in 2015 as an illustrated book, Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination, sold in aid of Lumos and university-wide financial aid at Harvard.

In 2020, J.K. Rowling released in free online instalments, The Ickabog, an original fairy tale, which she wrote over ten years ago as a bedtime story for her younger children. She decided to share the personal family favourite to help entertain children, parents and carers confined at home during the Covid-19 lockdown.

The story is now published as a book (hardback, ebook and audio) in the English language, and is translated into 26 languages, each edition with its own unique illustrations by children. J.K. Rowling is donating her royalties from The Ickabog to her charitable trust, The Volant Charitable Trust, to assist vulnerable groups who have been particularly impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic in the UK and internationally.

J.K. Rowling’s latest children’s novel, The Christmas Pig, is out now. Illustrated by Jim Field, it’s the story of a little boy called Jack, and his beloved toy, Dur Pig, and the toy that replaces Dur Pig when he’s lost on Christmas Eve – the Christmas Pig. Together, Jack and the Christmas Pig embark on a magical journey to seek something lost, and to save the best friend Jack has ever known.

As well as receiving an OBE and Companion of Honour for services to children’s literature, J.K. Rowling has received many other awards and honours, including France’s Legion d’Honneur, Spain’s Prince of Asturias Award and Denmark’s Hans Christian Andersen Award.

www.jkrowling.com

Image: Photography Debra Hurford Brown © J.K. Rowling 2018

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
49,332 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 19 January 2017
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 12 November 2017
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 22 August 2018
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Stunning, Beautiful collectors edition!
Reviewed in Australia on 22 August 2018
This is an amazing, stunning edition of the original books! It’s a brilliant piece of art with beautiful illustrations and elusive items, such as a large wonderful illustrated poster of the north side of diagonally and a beautiful slipcase with gold left ingravings onto a royal purple cloth canvas. It also came in a cool shopping box to protect it, which has a nice illustration of a golden snitch. Overall I think it’s amazing piece of art! 5 out of 5 Wands!
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 13 June 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 8 August 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 9 January 2022
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 18 March 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 7 June 2018
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

bidisha b.
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it.
Reviewed in India on 4 January 2019
Verified Purchase
Customer image
bidisha b.
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it.
Reviewed in India on 4 January 2019
I am pushing 30's but I still love Harry potter like I did when I was a teenager and today I gave it as a gift to a teenager who is new to the book world. The books arrived in a perfect condition, timely delivery, well packed and along with a book mark. None of pages are missing and the paper quality is too good no speck of yellow is seen even the print is good. The conversation carried out between Ron Hermione and Harry through letters are printed in different fonts and the rest in different which gives the whole book an interesting look. The new readers can feel the conversation actually happening in their mind like a play on radio.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer imageCustomer image
270 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Serena
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter #1
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 December 2017
Verified Purchase
107 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Nosyness
5.0 out of 5 stars Review H.P. ? - I can't do that!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 July 2018
Verified Purchase
68 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Derek Thorburn
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter And The Philosopher's Stone, Kindle Copy
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 January 2019
Verified Purchase
53 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Samantha G
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Wait
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 August 2018
Verified Purchase
Customer image
Samantha G
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Wait
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 August 2018
i always knew this book would be one I loved, but for some reason never read it. So it was one of those books I ended up knowing about, and saw the movie for but hadn't read.
Finally I got around to read it and found it was far better than I imagined. Completely different to the impression I had in my head about it.
I am so late to the party there is little I can say about it, but if you are like me and still at the thinking about it stage then buy this book and you wont be disappointed.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
58 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?