Buying Options

Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $10.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone by [J.K. Rowling]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 33,484 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$10.99

Kindle Paperwhite
Kindle Paperwhite
The best device for reading, full stop. Learn more

Product description

From the Inside Flap

Read by Jim Dale
8 hours 17 minutes, 7 CDs
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable muggle aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's a wizard, just as his parents were.
But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright.
From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Book Description

Harry Potter is a seemingly ordinary boy but when he discovers that he's in fact a wizard and enrolled for his first year at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, his whole world changes. This is the first book in the spellbinding Harry Potter series. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B019PIOJYU
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Pottermore Publishing (8 December 2015)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 3874 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 345 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 33,484 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

J.K. Rowling is best-known as the author of the seven Harry Potter books, which were published between 1997 and 2007. The enduringly popular adventures of Harry, Ron and Hermione have gone on to sell over 500 million copies, be translated into over 80 languages and made into eight blockbuster films.

Alongside the Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling also wrote three short companion volumes for charity: Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, in aid of Comic Relief, and The Tales of Beedle the Bard, in aid of Lumos. The companion books and original series are all available as audiobooks.

In 2016, J.K. Rowling collaborated with playwright Jack Thorne and director John Tiffany to continue Harry’s story in a stage play, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, which opened in London, followed by the USA and Australia.

In the same year, she made her debut as a screenwriter with the film Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Inspired by the original companion volume, it was the first in a series of new adventures featuring wizarding world magizoologist Newt Scamander. The second, Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, was released in 2018 and the third, Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore is to be released in April 2022.

Both the screenplays, as well as the script of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, are also available as books.

Fans of Fantastic Beasts and Harry Potter can find out more at www.wizardingworld.com.

J.K. Rowling also writes novels for adults. The Casual Vacancy was published in 2012 and adapted for television in 2015. Under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith, she is the author of the highly acclaimed ‘Strike’ crime series, featuring private detective Cormoran Strike and his partner Robin Ellacott. The first of these, The Cuckoo’s Calling, was published to critical acclaim in 2013, at first without its author’s true identity being known. The Silkworm followed in 2014, Career of Evil in 2015 and Lethal White in 2018. All four books have been adapted for television by the BBC and HBO. The fifth book, Troubled Blood, is now out and was also an instant bestseller.

J.K. Rowling’s 2008 Harvard Commencement speech was published in 2015 as an illustrated book, Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination, sold in aid of Lumos and university-wide financial aid at Harvard.

In 2020, J.K. Rowling released in free online instalments, The Ickabog, an original fairy tale, which she wrote over ten years ago as a bedtime story for her younger children. She decided to share the personal family favourite to help entertain children, parents and carers confined at home during the Covid-19 lockdown.

The story is now published as a book (hardback, ebook and audio) in the English language, and is translated into 26 languages, each edition with its own unique illustrations by children. J.K. Rowling is donating her royalties from The Ickabog to her charitable trust, The Volant Charitable Trust, to assist vulnerable groups who have been particularly impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic in the UK and internationally.

J.K. Rowling’s latest children’s novel, The Christmas Pig, is out now. Illustrated by Jim Field, it’s the story of a little boy called Jack, and his beloved toy, Dur Pig, and the toy that replaces Dur Pig when he’s lost on Christmas Eve – the Christmas Pig. Together, Jack and the Christmas Pig embark on a magical journey to seek something lost, and to save the best friend Jack has ever known.

As well as receiving an OBE and Companion of Honour for services to children’s literature, J.K. Rowling has received many other awards and honours, including France’s Legion d’Honneur, Spain’s Prince of Asturias Award and Denmark’s Hans Christian Andersen Award.

www.jkrowling.com

Image: Photography Debra Hurford Brown © J.K. Rowling 2018

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
33,484 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 19 January 2017
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 13 November 2017
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 13 June 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 8 August 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 7 June 2018
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 22 August 2018
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Stunning, Beautiful collectors edition!
By Rachel Dearnley on 22 August 2018
This is an amazing, stunning edition of the original books! It’s a brilliant piece of art with beautiful illustrations and elusive items, such as a large wonderful illustrated poster of the north side of diagonally and a beautiful slipcase with gold left ingravings onto a royal purple cloth canvas. It also came in a cool shopping box to protect it, which has a nice illustration of a golden snitch. Overall I think it’s amazing piece of art! 5 out of 5 Wands!
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 19 March 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 19 January 2017
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

bidisha b.
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it.
Reviewed in India on 4 January 2019
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it.
Reviewed in India on 4 January 2019
I am pushing 30's but I still love Harry potter like I did when I was a teenager and today I gave it as a gift to a teenager who is new to the book world. The books arrived in a perfect condition, timely delivery, well packed and along with a book mark. None of pages are missing and the paper quality is too good no speck of yellow is seen even the print is good. The conversation carried out between Ron Hermione and Harry through letters are printed in different fonts and the rest in different which gives the whole book an interesting look. The new readers can feel the conversation actually happening in their mind like a play on radio.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer imageCustomer image
256 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Serena
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter #1
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 December 2017
Verified Purchase
100 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Nosyness
5.0 out of 5 stars Review H.P. ? - I can't do that!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 July 2018
Verified Purchase
64 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars The slipcase edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone is phenomenal!
Reviewed in India on 9 February 2018
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars The slipcase edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone is phenomenal!
Reviewed in India on 8 February 2018
If you're a Potterhead, you are definitely going to fall in love with this book! And it would definitely look beautiful on your shelf!
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image Customer image Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer imageCustomer imageCustomer imageCustomer image
142 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Derek Thorburn
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter And The Philosopher's Stone, Kindle Copy
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 January 2019
Verified Purchase
49 people found this helpful
Report abuse