Buying Options

Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $10.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by [J.K. Rowling]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban Kindle Edition

4.8 out of 5 stars 37,985 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$10.99

New children's books bundles!
Book bundles for children's growth and development. Shop now

Product description

Book Description

When Harry, along with his best friends Ron and Hermione, go back for their third year at Hogwarts, the atmosphere is tense. There's an escaped mass murderer on the loose, and the sinister prison guards of Azkaban have been called in to guard the school... --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From the Back Cover

FOR TWELVE long years, the dread fortress of Azkaban held an infamous prisoner named Sirius Black. Convicted of killing thirteen people with a single curse, he was said to be the heir apparent to the Dark Lord, Voldemort.

Now he has escaped, leaving only two clues as to where he might be headed: Harry Potter's defeat of You-Know-Who was Black's downfall as well. And the Azkaban guards heard Black muttering in his sleep, "He's at Hogwarts ... he's at Hogwarts".

Harry Potter isn't safe, not even within the walls of his magical school, surrounded by his friends. Because on top of it all, there may well be a traitor in their midst.

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B019PIOJZ4
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Pottermore Publishing (8 December 2015)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 2986 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 475 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.8 out of 5 stars 37,985 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

J.K. Rowling is best-known as the author of the seven Harry Potter books, which were published between 1997 and 2007. The enduringly popular adventures of Harry, Ron and Hermione have gone on to sell over 500 million copies, be translated into over 80 languages and made into eight blockbuster films.

Alongside the Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling also wrote three short companion volumes for charity: Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, in aid of Comic Relief, and The Tales of Beedle the Bard, in aid of Lumos. The companion books and original series are all available as audiobooks.

In 2016, J.K. Rowling collaborated with playwright Jack Thorne and director John Tiffany to continue Harry’s story in a stage play, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, which opened in London, followed by the USA and Australia.

In the same year, she made her debut as a screenwriter with the film Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Inspired by the original companion volume, it was the first in a series of new adventures featuring wizarding world magizoologist Newt Scamander. The second, Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, was released in 2018 and the third, Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore is to be released in April 2022.

Both the screenplays, as well as the script of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, are also available as books.

Fans of Fantastic Beasts and Harry Potter can find out more at www.wizardingworld.com.

J.K. Rowling also writes novels for adults. The Casual Vacancy was published in 2012 and adapted for television in 2015. Under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith, she is the author of the highly acclaimed ‘Strike’ crime series, featuring private detective Cormoran Strike and his partner Robin Ellacott. The first of these, The Cuckoo’s Calling, was published to critical acclaim in 2013, at first without its author’s true identity being known. The Silkworm followed in 2014, Career of Evil in 2015 and Lethal White in 2018. All four books have been adapted for television by the BBC and HBO. The fifth book, Troubled Blood, is now out and was also an instant bestseller.

J.K. Rowling’s 2008 Harvard Commencement speech was published in 2015 as an illustrated book, Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination, sold in aid of Lumos and university-wide financial aid at Harvard.

In 2020, J.K. Rowling released in free online instalments, The Ickabog, an original fairy tale, which she wrote over ten years ago as a bedtime story for her younger children. She decided to share the personal family favourite to help entertain children, parents and carers confined at home during the Covid-19 lockdown.

The story is now published as a book (hardback, ebook and audio) in the English language, and is translated into 26 languages, each edition with its own unique illustrations by children. J.K. Rowling is donating her royalties from The Ickabog to her charitable trust, The Volant Charitable Trust, to assist vulnerable groups who have been particularly impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic in the UK and internationally.

J.K. Rowling’s latest children’s novel, The Christmas Pig, is out now. Illustrated by Jim Field, it’s the story of a little boy called Jack, and his beloved toy, Dur Pig, and the toy that replaces Dur Pig when he’s lost on Christmas Eve – the Christmas Pig. Together, Jack and the Christmas Pig embark on a magical journey to seek something lost, and to save the best friend Jack has ever known.

As well as receiving an OBE and Companion of Honour for services to children’s literature, J.K. Rowling has received many other awards and honours, including France’s Legion d’Honneur, Spain’s Prince of Asturias Award and Denmark’s Hans Christian Andersen Award.

www.jkrowling.com

Image: Photography Debra Hurford Brown © J.K. Rowling 2018

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
37,985 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 24 July 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 2 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 12 September 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 29 July 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 18 August 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 9 June 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 9 July 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 27 September 2017
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Hitesh
5.0 out of 5 stars In my opinion, whether you're twelve or twenty two, I highly recommend them!!
Reviewed in India on 12 October 2018
Verified Purchase
Customer image
Hitesh
5.0 out of 5 stars In my opinion, whether you're twelve or twenty two, I highly recommend them!!
Reviewed in India on 12 October 2018
As always with Rowling's books, I loved Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban! JK Rowling's words have a curious habit of coming to life, and her characters are funny, and realistic. One of the greatest things about Harry Potter, is that they improve with each book, and you can clearly glimpse the clever, intricate plot Rowling has wove, with cleverly placed foreshadowing and seemingly innocent hints.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
88 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Djilly L.
5.0 out of 5 stars A much darker story but a fabulous read with a little something for everyone
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 June 2019
Verified Purchase
Customer image
Djilly L.
5.0 out of 5 stars A much darker story but a fabulous read with a little something for everyone
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 June 2019
In this book, as Harry approaches adolescence the tone changes. And we get a more interesting, but also more complex and darker story.

Unlike the static characters in other books or series, Harry is getting older, and getting less stable emotionally. The book still appeals to both children and adults but it involves some horror creatures, Dementors and there is lot of focus on Harry’s parents' deaths.

The great thing for children is that the familiar, relatable characters are being brought to life and come across as very realistic. Harry’s friendship with Ron and Hermione takes a different direction in this instalment. Hermione is being forced to make tough choices that impact Harry but Ron in particular. With who she is in constant disagreement. But the book also has an exceptionally strong set of secondary characters like Professor Lupin, the Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher, a great new character that hides a big hairy secret. Then there is Professor Trelawney for Divination studies. While Hagrid displays his love of all magical creatures. Professor Snape remains enigmatic so that you continue to question his true motives. Cedric Diggory and Cho Chang, who play important roles in later books of the series are introduced as well

The book has are many fun, unexpected and exciting plot points. Many elements in this story are not what they appear at first sight, take for example Sirius Black a prison escapee, who is believed to have betrayed Harry’s parents. The mystery of Lord Voldemort murder of Harry's parents is increasingly central and new details are revealed. And the climax was exhilarating and intense.

Our daughter had to be forced to put the book down. And when pushed for favourites, Prisoner of Azkaban is her favourite Harry Potter book, if not among all the books she has read.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer imageCustomer image
16 people found this helpful
Report abuse
AHick90
5.0 out of 5 stars Used hardback - Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 March 2020
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Lisa J
4.0 out of 5 stars Good budget version of the amazing story.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 November 2019
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
stephen m tivey
4.0 out of 5 stars Magic Moments
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 January 2022
Verified Purchase
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?