Buying Options

Read and listen for $0.00. Learn more
Read and Listen for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $1.49
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Her Name Is Knight (Nena Knight Book 1) by [Yasmin Angoe]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Her Name Is Knight (Nena Knight Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 6,601 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$1.49

New children's books bundles!
Book bundles for children's growth and development. Shop now

Product description

From the Publisher

Yasmin Angoe wrote the female Jason Bourne that everyone needs. Complex, brave, and lethal, Nena Knight is without a doubt one of the best heroines I have ever read. As an elite assassin for the Tribe—a syndicate looking to promote Africa’s interests abroad—Nena is unstoppable, accepting their directives without complaint. Until, on a mission, Nena sees a ghost from her childhood—a man she was told was dead, a man who helped murder her family and ravage her childhood village.

Driven by revenge and passion, Nena finally opens herself up to the possibility that there could be more to her life than living as a killer, and for the first time...she disobeys her orders.

Told in dual timelines, Angoe’s debut seamlessly oscillates between Nena’s heartbreaking childhood in Ghana and the present, where now she must avenge her family’s death.
Her Name Is Knight is both a character story and an espionage thriller about a woman who learns her true purpose, regardless of what the world forced her to become.

—Megha Parekh, Editor

Review

"This stunning debut...deftly balances action, interpersonal relationships, issues of trauma, and profound human questions in an unforgettable novel." --Library Journal (starred review)

"A parable of reclaiming personal and tribal identity by seizing power at all costs." --Kirkus Reviews

"Angoe expertly builds tension by shifting between her lead's past and present lives. Thriller fans will cheer Aninyeh every step of the way." --Publishers Weekly

"...an action-packed thriller you can lose yourself in." --POPSUGAR

"A crackerjack story with truly memorable characters. I can't wait to see what Yasmin Angoe comes up with next." --David Baldacci, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Yasmin Angoe's debut novel, Her Name Is Knight, is an amazing action packed international thriller full of suspense, danger, and even romance. It's like a John Wick prequel except John is a beautiful African woman with a particular set of skills." --S. A. Cosby, award-winning author of Blacktop Wasteland

"It's hard to believe that Her Name Is Knight is Yasmin Angoe's debut novel. This dual timeline story about a highly trained Miami-based assassin who learns to reclaim her power after having her entire life ripped from her as a teenager in Ghana is equal parts love story, social commentary, and action thriller. Nena Knight will stay with you long after you've read the last word, and this is a must-read for fans of Lee Child and S. A. Cosby. I found myself crying in one chapter and cheering in the next. I couldn't put it down!" --Kellye Garrett, Anthony, Agatha, and Lefty Award-winning author

"This was a book I couldn't put down. Yasmin Angoe does a brilliant job of inviting you into a world of espionage and revenge while giving her characters depth and backstory that pull the reader in even more. This story has depth, excitement, and heartbreaking loss all intertwined into an awesome debut. The spy thriller genre has a new name to look out for!" --Matthew Farrell, bestselling author of Don't Ever Forget

"This brave and profoundly gorgeous thriller takes readers to places they've never been, to challenges they've never faced, and to judgments that leave the strongest in tears. Her Name Is Knight is a stunning and important debut, and Yasmin Angoe is a fantastic new talent." --Hank Phillippi Ryan, USA Today bestselling author of Her Perfect Life

"Her Name Is Knight is a roundhouse kick of a novel--intense, evocative, and loaded with character and international intrigue. Nena Knight is a protagonist for the ages and one readers will not soon forget. Her Name Is Knight isn't just thrills and action, either--the book lingers with you long after you've finished. More, please." --Alex Segura, acclaimed author of Star Wars Poe Dameron: Free Fall, Secret Identity, and Blackout

--This text refers to the audioCD edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08R75GRWM
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Thomas & Mercer (1 November 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 4832 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 389 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 6,601 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Hailing from Northern Virginia, Yasmin Angoe is a first-generation Ghanaian American who grew up in two cultural worlds. She taught English in middle and high schools for years, served as an instructional coach for virtual teachers, and spent time as a freelance copy editor.

Angoe recently received the Eleanor Taylor Bland Award for emerging writers of color from Sisters of Crime, of which she’s a proud member. When she’s not writing, she’s in South Carolina with her beautiful blended family, trying new recipes and absorbed in an audiobook. Her Name Is Knight is Yasmin’s debut novel.

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
6,601 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 24 November 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 18 October 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 31 December 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 29 November 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 5 November 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 9 October 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 28 January 2022
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 11 October 2021
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

The Cookster
2.0 out of 5 stars Some impressive elements - but disappointing in other respects.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 October 2021
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Cliddy
2.0 out of 5 stars It's a sloppy simplistic read.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 October 2021
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Olivia McCarthy
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 October 2021
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
K. G. A. Alavi
5.0 out of 5 stars Two lives
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 November 2021
Verified Purchase
Ian
1.0 out of 5 stars Lacks depth
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 October 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?