Buying Options

Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $4.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies (Kindle Single) (Pottermore Presents Book 1) by [J.K. Rowling]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies (Kindle Single) (Pottermore Presents Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 4,336 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$4.99

New children's books bundles!
Book bundles for children's growth and development. Shop now
Next 3 for you in this series See full series
$14.97 includes tax, if applicable
By clicking on the buy button, your order will be finalised and you agree to the Kindle store terms of use.
Sold by: Pottermore Limited
Price set by publisher.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B01JLXETNK
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Pottermore Publishing (6 September 2016)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 3192 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 73 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,336 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

J.K. Rowling is best-known as the author of the seven Harry Potter books, which were published between 1997 and 2007. The enduringly popular adventures of Harry, Ron and Hermione have gone on to sell over 600 million copies, be translated into over 80 languages and made into eight blockbuster films.

Alongside the Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling also wrote three short companion volumes for charity: Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, in aid of Comic Relief, and The Tales of Beedle the Bard, in aid of Lumos. The companion books and original series are all available as audiobooks.

In 2016, J.K. Rowling collaborated with playwright Jack Thorne and director John Tiffany to continue Harry’s story in a stage play, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, which opened in London, followed by the USA and Australia.

In the same year, she made her debut as a screenwriter with the film Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Inspired by the original companion volume, it was the first in a series of new adventures featuring wizarding world magizoologist Newt Scamander. The second, Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, was released in 2018 and the third, Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore was released in April 2022.

The screenplays, as well as the script of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, are also available as books.

Fans of Fantastic Beasts and Harry Potter can find out more at www.wizardingworld.com.

J.K. Rowling also writes novels for adults. The Casual Vacancy was published in 2012 and adapted for television in 2015. Under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith, she is the author of the highly acclaimed ‘Strike’ crime series, featuring private detective Cormoran Strike and his partner Robin Ellacott. The first of these, The Cuckoo’s Calling, was published to critical acclaim in 2013, at first without its author’s true identity being known. The Silkworm followed in 2014, Career of Evil in 2015, Lethal White in 2018 and Troubled Blood in 2020. All of the books have been adapted for television by the BBC and HBO. The sixth book in the series, Ink Black Heart, is published in August 2022.

J.K. Rowling’s 2008 Harvard Commencement speech was published in 2015 as an illustrated book, Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination, sold in aid of Lumos and university-wide financial aid at Harvard.

In 2020, J.K. Rowling released in free online instalments, The Ickabog, an original fairy tale, which she wrote over ten years ago as a bedtime story for her younger children. She decided to share the personal family favourite to help entertain children, parents and carers confined at home during the Covid-19 lockdown.

The story is now published as a book (hardback, ebook and audio) in the English language, and is translated into 26 languages, each edition with its own unique illustrations by children. J.K. Rowling is donating her royalties from The Ickabog to her charitable trust, The Volant Charitable Trust, to assist vulnerable groups who have been particularly impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic in the UK and internationally.

J.K. Rowling’s latest children’s novel, The Christmas Pig, is out now. Illustrated by Jim Field, it’s the story of a little boy called Jack, and his beloved toy, Dur Pig, and the toy that replaces Dur Pig when he’s lost on Christmas Eve – the Christmas Pig. Together, Jack and the Christmas Pig embark on a magical journey to seek something lost, and to save the best friend Jack has ever known.

As well as receiving an OBE and Companion of Honour for services to children’s literature, J.K. Rowling has received many other awards and honours, including France’s Legion d’Honneur, Spain’s Prince of Asturias Award and Denmark’s Hans Christian Andersen Award.

www.jkrowling.com

Image: Photography Debra Hurford Brown © J.K. Rowling

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
4,336 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 2 April 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 31 March 2022
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 27 November 2017
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 10 September 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 6 October 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 14 February 2017
Verified Purchase
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 17 January 2020
Reviewed in Australia on 19 July 2021

Top reviews from other countries

Ghost Nappa
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for post-Potter Blues
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 April 2022
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Alaran
3.0 out of 5 stars Biographies of various teachers from Hogwarts with additional information
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 September 2016
Verified Purchase
18 people found this helpful
Report abuse
ShayneyH
4.0 out of 5 stars Adds A Little Extra
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 May 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
LJBentley
4.0 out of 5 stars We want more!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 November 2016
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reader
4.0 out of 5 stars a trips down imagination road review
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 September 2016
Verified Purchase
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?