Buying Options

Read and listen for $0.00. Learn more
Read and Listen for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $7.19
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

The Killer Collective by [Barry Eisler]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Killer Collective Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 7,277 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$7.19

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Review

“Impossibly cool.” Entertainment Weekly

“As usual with an Eisler novel, the plot is full of twists, the prose is muscular, and the action unfolds at a torrid pace. The result is another page-turner from one of the better thriller writers since James Grady published
Six Days of the Condor in 1974.” ―Associated Press

“In this crackling-good thriller from bestseller Eisler, Seattle PD sex crimes detective Livia Lone, assassin John Rain, and former Marine sniper Dox form a testy alliance to combat a vile conspiracy involving corrupt and toxic government agencies…The feisty interplay among these killer elites is as irresistible as if one combined the Justice League with the Avengers, swapping out the superhero uniforms for cutting-edge weaponry and scintillating spycraft. By the satisfying conclusion, the world has been scrubbed a bit cleaner of perfidy. This is delightfully brutal fun.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Vicarious pleasure for anyone wanting to see the scum of the world get its due.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Eisler does a great job of creating individual personalities and tics with this group of uniquely trained professionals. A solid recommendation for fans of Robert Ludlum’s Jason Bourne and Daniel Silva’s Gabriel Allon.”
Library Journal

“Riveting…Barry Eisler pulls off an
Avengers-like feat…” The Mercury News

“Eisler turns the heat up like never before to deliver a fun, fast-paced thriller that’s tailor-made for fans of nonstop action.”
―The Real Book Spy

“The fun of Eisler’s super thriller is in the excitement, the chase, and the survival.
The Killer Collective binds it together into a blazing adventure of espionage escape fiction, perfect to start the new year.” ―New York Journal of Books

“Eisler’s
The Killer Collective packs a punch like a sniper’s rifle. A solid grounding in up-to-the-minute technology and current affairs makes this a hot read for thriller lovers.” ―Authorlink

“A heart-pounding home run…Eisler has created a more literary version of
The Expendables―the movie series that brought together Stallone, Schwarzenegger, Jet Li, Chuck Norris, Jason Statham, Dolph Lundgren, Bruce Willis, and other action heroes…” It’s Either Sadness or Euphoria

“Demonstrating the extraordinary expertise in the art of espionage and special operations―including surveillance detection, cover, elicitation, operational site selection, and more―that his fans and fellow practitioners have come to venerate, Eisler delivers another brilliant, fast-paced thriller, full of well-developed characters who remind me of the special operations and intelligence officers with whom I served and in some cases against whom I worked. For a retired senior CIA Clandestine Services officer still nostalgic for his espionage operations of bygone years, Eisler’s thrillers full of intrigue, adventure, and suspense are a most welcome opportunity to get as close as is now possible to the real thing.”
―Daniel N. Hoffman, retired Clandestine Services officer and former CIA Chief of Station --This text refers to the paperback edition.

From the Publisher

A jaded retired assassin. A police detective bent on payback. A good ol’ boy Marine sniper. A sultry Mossad agent. Is this a dream team? More like the stuff of nightmares—if you’re a criminal, that is.

For me, the uneasy collection of antiheroes who star in Barry Eisler’s latest thriller makes the book one of the most powerful and propulsive novels I’ve read in recent memory.

Brought together by a mutual desire to take down an international child-pornography ring that appears to have connections to some very powerful people, the group—which includes characters from Eisler’s bestselling John Rain and Livia Lone series—embarks on a high-stakes chase from industrial south Seattle to the Blue Ridge Mountains to the exclusive salons of Paris.

Along the way, we’re caught up in a game of cutting-edge spycraft where nothing is as it seems and the line between triumph and disaster is paper thin. Whether you’re a longtime fan of Eisler’s electrifying imagination or a brand-new reader, this collective of killers is sure to stay with you long after the final explosive pages.

- Grace Doyle, Editor

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07DL1Y4GV
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Thomas & Mercer (1 February 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 4419 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 450 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 7,277 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

I've been blessed with a variety of interesting jobs: a covert position with the CIA's Directorate of Operations (now called the National Clandestine Service); attorney in an international law firm; in-house counsel at the Osaka headquarters of Panasonic; executive in a Silicon Valley technology startup.

But the best job by far has been novel writing, and who'd have guessed that my agency training, my time as a lawyer, my experiences in Japan, and a background in martial arts would form a good background for political thrillers? I get a lot of my material from actual US government craziness (assassinations, torture, indefinite imprisonment, bulk surveillance…you know, everything needed these days to to Keep Us Safe). As I like to say, what’s bad for America is good for thriller writers.

A lot of what I’ve speculated about turns out to be true: the kill list, or "International Terrorist Threat Matrix," I introduced in 2004 in Winner Take All, for example, came to light in 2012 and 2013 as the “Disposition Matrix,” courtesy of the Obama administration. The safety shortcomings of Japanese nuclear reactors I described in 2003 in A Lonely Resurrection were documented following the 2011 Fukushima catastrophe. And the pacemaker hack that kicked off my first book—A Clean Kill in Tokyo, in 2002—turns out to have been a real concern of Dick Cheney’s, as revealed in his memoirs (it also turned up in the second season of Homeland).

The books have won a bunch of awards and made various “Best of” lists, which is nice. If you want to follow what I’m up to beyond the books, Twitter’s a good bet—@barryeisler. And then there’s Facebook; the mailing list you can find on my website; and my blog, The Heart of the Matter.

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
7,280 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 10 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 9 March 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 27 February 2022
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 29 October 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 18 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 19 January 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 10 January 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 1 February 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 14 February 2019
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Kaffmatt
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Recommended- Disappointing Clap-Trap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 January 2019
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jane
2.0 out of 5 stars Reaching Out
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 January 2019
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jim Bowen
3.0 out of 5 stars A Pefectly Readable Book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 February 2019
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Charles Green
3.0 out of 5 stars Start Well But Peters Out Towards The End
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 February 2019
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Clare O'Beara
4.0 out of 5 stars Killer collective
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 June 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?