Buying Options

Kindle Price: $15.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Memphis: SHORTLISTED FOR THE WATERSTONES DEBUT FICTION PRIZE by [Tara M Stringfellow]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Memphis: SHORTLISTED FOR THE WATERSTONES DEBUT FICTION PRIZE Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 1,751 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$15.99

New children's books bundles!
Book bundles for children's growth and development. Shop now

Product description

Review

In luminous, lyrical prose, Tara Stringfellow sings the song of the North women-and the North men-with wisdom, humor, and deep humanity. Memphis is an American epic, a tribute to life in all of its sorrow and joyful resilience - Chloe Benjamin, bestselling author of The Immortalists

Written with the grace of a poet, Memphis is as hopeful as it is heartbreaking. I fell in love with this family, from Joan's fierce heart to her grandmother Hazel's determined resilience. Tara Stringfellow will be an author to watch for years to come . . . A stellar debut - Jacqueline Woodson, bestselling author of Red at the Bone

An evocative, compelling tale that mines the depths of collective Black pain to arrive at something that might be, for once, Black healing. Writing in the ancestral tradition of stories passed from one generation to the next-relived, revised, revealed-Tara M. Stringfellow assembles an endearing and unforgettable cast of characters who find strength in vulnerability, safety in art, and liberation in telling the truth. This is a shining, splendid testimony in the vein of Gloria Naylor, Delores Phillips, Ayana Mathis, and Honoree Jeffers - Robert Jones, Jr., New York Times bestselling author of The Prophets

"A rhapsodic hymn to Black women." - The New York Times Book Review

This vivid debut novel examines the tragedies, joys, and deep connections of one extraordinary Memphis family . . . A story populated with unforgettable characters. Stringfellow's prose is evocative . . . A powerful family saga from a promising writer - Booklist

This poetic, multigenerational story is set in the ancestral Memphis home a mother and her daughters flee to to escape the father's violence. Spanning 70 years, and told through a variety of voices, this powerful debut novel encompasses race, class, and the legacy of trauma - Oprah Daily Most Anticipated

This beautifully written debut will transport, challenge and transfix you . . . The novel is an ode to the city and the Black women living there. There's a great sense of the women's enigma and enchantment, humour and fortitude - Adele Parks, Platinum Magazine

A stunning debut, a deeply affecting portrait of familial bonds. Rich with indelible black women and Southern charm - Irenosen Okojie --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Book Description

Every family has a soundtrack. Theirs is set to the beat of love and loss in Memphis --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0998D4C63
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ John Murray (7 April 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 5210 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 262 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 0593230485
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,751 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Former attorney, Northwestern University MFA graduate, and Pushcart Prize nominee Tara M. Stringfellow’s debut novel Memphis (Dial Press, an imprint of Penguin Random House) is a multi-generational bildungsroman based on the author’s rich Civil Rights history.

A recent winner of the Book Pipeline Fiction Contest, Memphis was recognized for its clear path to film or TV series adaptation and is due out in 2022. Third World Press published her first collection of poetry entitled More than Dancing in 2008.

A cross-genre artist, the author was Northwestern University’s first MFA graduate in both poetry and prose and has been nominated for two Pushcart Prizes, as well as Best of the Net.

Her poems have appeared in Collective Unrest, Jet Fuel Review, Minerva Rising, Women’s Arts Quarterly, Transitions and Apogee Journal, among others.

If she isn’t writing, she’s gardening. If she’s isn’t in Memphis, she’s in Italy.

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
1,751 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 15 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

Anne Cooke
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 May 2022
Verified Purchase
Susie | Novel Visits
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Story of a Female Led Family
Reviewed in the United States on 7 April 2022
Verified Purchase
21 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise
Reviewed in the United States on 27 April 2022
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Ms Queenie Clem
5.0 out of 5 stars Sisterly love
Reviewed in the United States on 1 May 2022
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jas
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed.
Reviewed in the United States on 10 June 2022
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?