Buy new:
$26.11
In stock.
US imports may differ from local products. Additional terms apply. Learn More.

Amazon Global Store

  • International products have separate terms and are sold from abroad and may differ from local products including fit, age rating, and language of product, labeling, or instructions, or plugs (you may require an adapter).
  • Manufacturer warranty may not apply but you may have other rights under law.
  • Learn more about Amazon Global Store
[{"displayPrice":"$26.11","priceAmount":26.11,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"26","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"11","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"nM8GE6qemwmsx67S%2FNfqPina%2BqtdIIh5IQhtBK7snsqCdOoIfkzazh9EW2Z5iA71UHKIEyla2C0rHRVtdaEiadoTeVhsd0DvYMKzcQm050Czhl4hcU0%2BYxPX94n3o3F2CEa90Za9LujP8mwVnXgcVl5BWr%2BHc8iEvFMKKd0Fo%2BMb5w7lYigXkRg57yjfLzra","locale":"en-AU","buyingOptionType":"NEW"}]
$$26.11 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$26.11
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon US
Sold by
Ships from
Amazon US
Sold by
Memphis has been added to your Cart
Share <Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$44.52
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Sold by: Book Depository UK
(34604 ratings)
90% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Added
$52.24
+ $3.00 Delivery
Sold by: RarewavesUSA
Sold by: RarewavesUSA
(5511 ratings)
84% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Memphis Hardcover – 1 January 1900

4.5 out of 5 stars 1,840 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, 5 April 2022
$26.11
$26.11

Enhance your purchase

New children's books bundles!
Book bundles for children's growth and development. Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • Memphis
  • +
  • Black Cake
  • +
  • Take My Hand
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

"Readers will come to see that Stringfellow is demonstrating the erratic movements of history, the false starts and reversals and, yes, the moments of progress that are reflected in our haphazard march toward realizing King's vision for America. . . . With her richly impressionistic style, Stringfellow captures the changes transforming Memphis in the latter half of the 20th century."--The Washington Post

"Written with the grace of a poet, Memphis is as hopeful as it is heartbreaking. I fell in love with this family, from Joan's fierce heart to her grandmother Hazel's determined resilience. Tara Stringfellow will be an author to watch for years to come. . . . A stellar debut."--Jacqueline Woodson, bestselling author of Red at the Bone

"Memphis is an evocative, compelling tale that mines the depths of collective Black pain to arrive at something that might be, for once, Black healing. Writing in the ancestral tradition of stories passed from one generation to the next--relived, revised, revealed--Tara M. Stringfellow assembles an endearing and unforgettable cast of characters who find strength in vulnerability, safety in art, and liberation in telling the truth. This is a shining, splendid testimony in the vein of Gloria Naylor, Delores Phillips, Ayana Mathis, and Honorée Jeffers."--Robert Jones, Jr., New York Times bestselling author of The Prophets

"In luminous, lyrical prose, Tara Stringfellow sings the song of the North women--and the North men--with wisdom, humor, and deep humanity. Memphis is an American epic, a tribute to life in all of its sorrow and joyful resilience."--Chloe Benjamin, bestselling author of The Immortalists

"This vivid debut novel examines the tragedies, joys, and deep connections of one extraordinary Memphis family. . . . A story populated with unforgettable characters. Stringfellow's prose is evocative. . . . A powerful family saga from a promising writer."--Booklist

"A rich tapestry of women's familial relationships . . . a well-written debut by an author worth watching for years to come . . . Recommended for anyone who appreciates Toni Morrison, Alice Walker, or Gloria Naylor."--Library Journal (starred review)

About the Author

Poet, former attorney, Northwestern University MFA graduate, and semifinalist for the Fulbright Fellowship, Tara M. Stringfellow has written for Collective Unrest, Minerva Rising, Jet Fuel Review, Women Arts Quarterly Journal, and Apogee Journal, among other publications. After having lived in Okinawa, Ghana, Chicago, Cuba, Spain, Italy, and Washington, DC, she moved back home to Memphis, where she sits on her porch swing every evening with her hound, Huckleberry, listening to records and chatting with neighbors.

New children's books bundles!
Book bundles for children's growth and development. Shop now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Dial Press (1 January 1900)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 272 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0593230485
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0593230480
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 16 x 2.29 x 24.18 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,840 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Former attorney, Northwestern University MFA graduate, and Pushcart Prize nominee Tara M. Stringfellow’s debut novel Memphis (Dial Press, an imprint of Penguin Random House) is a multi-generational bildungsroman based on the author’s rich Civil Rights history.

A recent winner of the Book Pipeline Fiction Contest, Memphis was recognized for its clear path to film or TV series adaptation and is due out in 2022. Third World Press published her first collection of poetry entitled More than Dancing in 2008.

A cross-genre artist, the author was Northwestern University’s first MFA graduate in both poetry and prose and has been nominated for two Pushcart Prizes, as well as Best of the Net.

Her poems have appeared in Collective Unrest, Jet Fuel Review, Minerva Rising, Women’s Arts Quarterly, Transitions and Apogee Journal, among others.

If she isn’t writing, she’s gardening. If she’s isn’t in Memphis, she’s in Italy.

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
1,840 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 15 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

Anne Cooke
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 May 2022
Verified Purchase
Susie | Novel Visits
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Story of a Female Led Family
Reviewed in the United States on 7 April 2022
Verified Purchase
23 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise
Reviewed in the United States on 27 April 2022
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Ms Queenie Clem
5.0 out of 5 stars Sisterly love
Reviewed in the United States on 1 May 2022
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jas
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed.
Reviewed in the United States on 10 June 2022
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse