Buy new:
$25.40
RRP: $32.99

Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
Save: $7.59 (23%)
In stock.
[{"displayPrice":"$25.40","priceAmount":25.40,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"25","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"40","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"Wu3HfXF8U%2F%2BobZbKRB%2FYpHOaQegktAceEjRAiKTecNj7RGCpP5okF0EsgypQE%2Fn0sL5Idw47C6OM2LGqB5%2FyOfHo%2BS91hONdeyKuUixNZpBekCqvyU0DZb%2F36O48OVBe4mPPGjr6KiTlBgiP25BtaeQ8XLBwgDWW","locale":"en-AU","buyingOptionType":"NEW"}]
$$25.40 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$25.40
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
Share <Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$32.72
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Sold by: Book Depository UK
(34604 ratings)
90% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Added
$36.10
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: BuyGlobal
Sold by: BuyGlobal
(15467 ratings)
82% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Added
$36.31
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: The Nile Australia
Sold by: The Nile Australia
(5444 ratings)
87% positive over last 12 months
Only 3 left in stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Memphis: SHORTLISTED FOR THE WATERSTONES DEBUT FICTION PRIZE Paperback – 7 April 2022

4.5 out of 5 stars 1,840 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback, 7 April 2022
$25.40
$25.40

Enhance your purchase

New children's books bundles!
Book bundles for children's growth and development. Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • Memphis: SHORTLISTED FOR THE WATERSTONES DEBUT FICTION PRIZE
  • +
  • Black Cake
  • +
  • The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
These items are dispatched from and sold by different sellers.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

Written with the grace of a poet, Memphis is as hopeful as it is heartbreaking. I fell in love with this family, from Joan's fierce heart to her grandmother Hazel's determined resilience. Tara Stringfellow will be an author to watch for years to come . . . A stellar debutJacqueline Woodson, bestselling author of Red at the Bone

In luminous, lyrical prose, Tara Stringfellow sings the song of the North women - and the North men - with wisdom, humor, and deep humanity. Memphis is an American epic, a tribute to life in all of its sorrow and joyful resilienceChloe Benjamin, bestselling author of The Immortalists

An evocative, compelling tale . . . Tara M Stringfellow assembles an endearing and unforgettable cast of characters who find strength in vulnerability, safety in art, and liberation in telling the truth. This is a shining, splendid testimony in the vein of Gloria Naylor, Delores Phillips, Ayana Mathis, and Honorée JeffersRobert Jones, Jr., New York Times bestselling author of The Prophets

Memphis is at once a sprawling generational epic and an intimate character study . . . There is sorrow in these pages, but there is also joy and wit and warmth . . . incredibly satisfying [and] deeply affecting Roxane Gay

A stunning debut, a deeply affecting portrait of familial bonds. Rich with indelible black women and Southern charmIrenosen Okojie

Black American literature at its finest . . . a symphony of storiesIrish Independent

A rhapsodic hymn to Black womenThe New York Times Book Review

Ferocious and compassionate . . . Stringfellow deftly weaves the voices of four vivid, formidable and funny women over three generations . . . Memphis reaches back to literary mothers and towards potential daughters, honouring the strength, creativity and resilience of Black womenIrish Times

I fell in love with this book by the end of the second paragraph. This story truly touched my soul. A talented new author who is definitely one to watchPrima, Book of the Month

Charting the story of three generations of women from a family in Memphis, this debut delivers an epic yet intimate history of black womanhood - ideal for fans of The Vanishing Half and An American MarriageCosmo

If ever there was a novel that reflects how the past can shape us, and how we can change our story, it's this stunning debut . . . this beautifully told and inspiring story is full of hopeWoman and Home

An accomplished debutGood Housekeeping

This vivid debut novel examines the tragedies, joys, and deep connections of one extraordinary Memphis family . . . A powerful family saga from a promising writerBooklist

This poetic, multigenerational story is set in the ancestral Memphis home a mother and her daughters flee to to escape the father's violence. Spanning 70 years, and told through a variety of voices, this powerful debut novel encompasses race, class, and the legacy of traumaOprah Daily Most Anticipated

This beautifully written debut will transport, challenge and transfix you . . . The novel is an ode to the city and the Black women living there. There's a great sense of the women's enigma and enchantment, humour and fortitudeAdele Parks, Platinum Magazine

An incredible readBella

Stunning . . . a spectacular debut rich with Southern charm . . . a celebration of sisterhood and lifeVoice Magazine

I love this book. I couldn't put it down. You will fall in love with these women who gather strength from one another's care amidst a world of heartbreak, racism, and violence. Filled with Fifties music, this book went straight to my heart -- Al Woodworth, Amazon Editor, Amazon Best Books of April 2002

Review

In luminous, lyrical prose, Tara Stringfellow sings the song of the North women-and the North men-with wisdom, humor, and deep humanity. Memphis is an American epic, a tribute to life in all of its sorrow and joyful resilience - Chloe Benjamin, bestselling author of The Immortalists

Written with the grace of a poet, Memphis is as hopeful as it is heartbreaking. I fell in love with this family, from Joan's fierce heart to her grandmother Hazel's determined resilience. Tara Stringfellow will be an author to watch for years to come . . . A stellar debut - Jacqueline Woodson, bestselling author of Red at the Bone

An evocative, compelling tale that mines the depths of collective Black pain to arrive at something that might be, for once, Black healing. Writing in the ancestral tradition of stories passed from one generation to the next-relived, revised, revealed-Tara M. Stringfellow assembles an endearing and unforgettable cast of characters who find strength in vulnerability, safety in art, and liberation in telling the truth. This is a shining, splendid testimony in the vein of Gloria Naylor, Delores Phillips, Ayana Mathis, and Honoree Jeffers - Robert Jones, Jr., New York Times bestselling author of The Prophets

"A rhapsodic hymn to Black women." - The New York Times Book Review

This vivid debut novel examines the tragedies, joys, and deep connections of one extraordinary Memphis family . . . A story populated with unforgettable characters. Stringfellow's prose is evocative . . . A powerful family saga from a promising writer - Booklist

This poetic, multigenerational story is set in the ancestral Memphis home a mother and her daughters flee to to escape the father's violence. Spanning 70 years, and told through a variety of voices, this powerful debut novel encompasses race, class, and the legacy of trauma - Oprah Daily Most Anticipated

This beautifully written debut will transport, challenge and transfix you . . . The novel is an ode to the city and the Black women living there. There's a great sense of the women's enigma and enchantment, humour and fortitude - Adele Parks, Platinum Magazine

A stunning debut, a deeply affecting portrait of familial bonds. Rich with indelible black women and Southern charm - Irenosen Okojie

New children's books bundles!
Book bundles for children's growth and development. Shop now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ John Murray; 1st edition (7 April 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 336 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1529339243
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1529339246
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 15.2 x 2.2 x 23.2 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,840 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Former attorney, Northwestern University MFA graduate, and Pushcart Prize nominee Tara M. Stringfellow’s debut novel Memphis (Dial Press, an imprint of Penguin Random House) is a multi-generational bildungsroman based on the author’s rich Civil Rights history.

A recent winner of the Book Pipeline Fiction Contest, Memphis was recognized for its clear path to film or TV series adaptation and is due out in 2022. Third World Press published her first collection of poetry entitled More than Dancing in 2008.

A cross-genre artist, the author was Northwestern University’s first MFA graduate in both poetry and prose and has been nominated for two Pushcart Prizes, as well as Best of the Net.

Her poems have appeared in Collective Unrest, Jet Fuel Review, Minerva Rising, Women’s Arts Quarterly, Transitions and Apogee Journal, among others.

If she isn’t writing, she’s gardening. If she’s isn’t in Memphis, she’s in Italy.

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
1,840 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 15 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

Anne Cooke
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 May 2022
Verified Purchase
Susie | Novel Visits
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Story of a Female Led Family
Reviewed in the United States on 7 April 2022
Verified Purchase
23 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise
Reviewed in the United States on 27 April 2022
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Ms Queenie Clem
5.0 out of 5 stars Sisterly love
Reviewed in the United States on 1 May 2022
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jas
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed.
Reviewed in the United States on 10 June 2022
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse