Buying Options

Kindle Price: $10.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

The Mother-in-Law by [Sally Hepworth]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Mother-in-Law Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 13,484 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$10.99

Money with Jess: Your Ultimate Guide to Household Budgeting
Learn how to get money, how to spend it and how to save it. Shop now

Product description

Review

Praise for The Mother-in-Law:

One of:
People Magazine's
People Pick
PopSugar's 30 Must-Read Books of 2019
Bustle's Best Books of April
Refinery29's Best Books of April 2019
Oprah Magazine's 15 Best Beach Reads of the Year So Far

A deliciously entertaining novel about one woman's complicated relationship with her mother-in-law that ends in death. This one is perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. --Good Morning America

"Sally Hepworth writes characters you love." --Liane Moriarty, bestselling author of Big Little Lies

"Deliciously entertaining, packed with wit and suspense, and also delivers sharp insights about family dynamics and love." --People magazine

A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences...a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott. --Booklist, starred review

A mesmerizing domestic mystery. --Kirkus

This one will keep you guessing until the very end. --Us Weekly

Hepworth's short, punchy chapters keep the pages quickly turning while effortlessly deepening her characters. Readers will race to the end of this clever novel to find the truth. --Publishers Weekly

Behold: the book that'll make your subway ride an actual enjoyable experience! This suspenseful thriller is impossible to put down. --Cosmo

"We devoured it in just one sitting. Bet you will too!" --Woman's Day

At last, sticky in-law tension gets the
chilly thriller treatment. In Hepworth's anticipated new page-turner, one woman's complex relationship with her mother-in-law ends in death. --Entertainment Weekly

Get ready for the kind of Gone Girl-level twists you may have fantasized about during awkward holiday gatherings. --Refinery29

A
delightfully twisty domestic suspense novel...fans of Big Little Lies and Then She Was Gone will love the startling end. --Shelf Awareness

The Mother-in-Law is indeed twisty and suspenseful, but even more than that, it's clever and nuanced. --Kelly Rimmer, USA Today bestselling author of Me Without You

Absolutely stunning. The Mother-in-Law has so many layers - I'll be thinking about it for a long time. --Heather Gudenkauf, NYT bestselling author

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

About the Author

Sally Hepworth has lived around the world, spending extended periods in Singapore, the United Kingdom and Canada. She is the author of The Secrets of Midwives, The Things We Keep, The Mother's Promise, The Family Next Door and The Mother-in-Law. Sally now lives in Melbourne with her husband, three children, and one adorable dog. --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07J5NHL9S
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Macmillan Australia (29 January 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1014 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 324 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 13,483 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Sally Hepworth is the bestselling author of The Secrets of Midwives (2015), The Things We Keep (2016) The Mother's Promise (2017), The Family Next Door (2018), The Mother In Law (April 2019), The Good Sister (April 2021) and The Younger Wife (April 2022). Hollywood actress and producer, Amy Poehler, has optioned The Mother In Law for a TV series.

Sally's books have been labelled “enchanting” by The Herald Sun, “smart and engaging” by Publisher’s Weekly, and New York Times bestselling authors Liane Moriarty and Emily Giffin have praised Sally’s novels as “women’s fiction at its finest” and “totally absorbing”. Sally's novels are available worldwide in English and have been translated into 10+ languages.

Sally lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband and three children.

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
13,484 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 50 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 22 February 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 10 November 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 12 June 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 7 February 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 19 March 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 18 November 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 25 October 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 5 February 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Book lover
1.0 out of 5 stars Just don't get it....
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 May 2019
Verified Purchase
68 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Rachel D
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written but disappointing.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 May 2019
Verified Purchase
44 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Nicky Hudson
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read - give it a go
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 May 2019
Verified Purchase
39 people found this helpful
Report abuse
KittyG26
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty silly
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 June 2019
Verified Purchase
20 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Ms. T. L. Brown
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 May 2019
Verified Purchase
26 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?