Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Ordinary Grace: A Novel by [William Kent Krueger]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Ordinary Grace: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 15,862 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Review

“Pitch-perfect, wonderfully evocative. . . . In Frank Drum’s journey away from the shores of childhood—a journey from which he can never return—we recognize the heartbreaking price of adulthood and its ‘wisdoms.’ I loved this book.” -- Dennis Lehane, New York Times bestselling author of Live by Night and The Given Day

“Krueger’s elegy for innocence is a deeply memorable tale.” ―
Washington Post

“A respected mystery writer turns his attention to the biggest mystery of all: God. An award-winning author for his long-running Cork O’ Connor series, Krueger aims higher and hits harder with a standalone novel that shares much with his other work.... 'the awful grace of God,' as it manifests itself within the novel, would try the faith of the most devout believer. Yet, ultimately, the world of this novel is one of redemptive grace and mercy, as well as unidentified corpses and unexplainable tragedy. A novel that transforms narrator and reader alike.” ―
Kirkus Reviews (starred)

“...elegiac, evocative.... a resonant tale of fury, guilt, and redemption.” ―
Publishers Weekly

“Once in a blue moon a book drops down on your desk that demands to be read. You pick it up and read the first page, and then the second, and you are hooked. Such a book is 
Ordinary Grace. . . . This is a book that makes the reader feel better just by having been exposed to the delights of the story. It will stay with you for quite some time and you will always remember it with a smile.”  ― Huffington Post

“One cannot read
Ordinary Grace without feeling as if it is destined to be hailed as a classic work of literature. Ordinary Grace is one of those very rare books in which one regrets reaching its end, knowing that the experience of having read it for the first time will never be repeated. Krueger, who is incapable of writing badly, arguably has given us his masterpiece.” ― BookReporter.com

“My best read so far this year.” ―
ReviewingtheEvidence.com

“A thoughtful literary mystery that is wholly compelling and will appeal to fans of Dennis Lehane and Tom Franklin. . . Don’t take the title too literally, for Krueger has produced something that is anything but ordinary.” ―
BookPage

“Not often does a story feel at once fresh and familiar. But
Ordinary Grace, a new novel from William Kent Krueger, is both, and it is affecting.” ― Denver Post

Ordinary Grace is engaging from the first page, a quiet novel that unfurls its sad story slowly, but eloquently, leaving its mark on your heart.” ― The Missourian

“There’s such a quiet beauty in his prose and such depth to his characters that I was completely captivated.”  ―
Minneapolis Star-Tribune

“A superb literary novel.” ―
New York Journal of Books

“...the tone is much like
To Kill a Mockingbird, with its combination of dread and nostalgia.” ― Detroit News

“Everything about this book, from language to ideas to Aeschylus’s epigram is beautiful and you’ll think about it long after you’re finished reading.” ―
The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

“I realized within pages this would be one of the best books I’ve read in recent years. The gathering threat and its consummation are satisfying and meaningful. This is an intelligent and compelling story told with great heart.... A perfect book club read, truly a book to love and read more than once. Absolutely recommended.” ―
Historical Novel Society

“Besides being a terrific story that examines a powerful range of human experiences and emotions, it was the authentic voice of the teenage narrator, Frank Drum, that kept me reading late into the night. Though the tone is quiet, Krueger artfully layered the story with suspenseful examinations of family life, death, fury, spiritual fiber and redemption.” -- Beth Hoffman, New York Times bestselling author of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt

“Sometimes a work of fiction just comes to you, sits in your soul, touches your life experiences and then is hard to remember as fiction. Ordinary Grace by William Kent Kruger is such a novel." ―
Capital Journal --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

About the Author

William Kent Krueger is the author of several stand-alone novels and the Cork OConnor mystery series, of which six have made the New York Times bestsellers list. His Iron Lake won the Barry Award and the 1998 Anthony Award for Best First Novel; Blood Hollow won the 2004 Anthony Award for Best Novel; and Mercy Falls won the 2005 Anthony Award for Best Novel. His stand-alone novel Ordinary Grace won the 2014 Edgar Award for Best Novel.

--This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B008J2G5Y6
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Atria Books; Reprint edition (26 March 2013)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 6011 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 322 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 15,862 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Raised in the Cascade Mountains of Oregon, William Kent Krueger briefly attended Stanford University—before being kicked out for radical activities. After that, he logged timber, worked construction, tried his hand at freelance journalism, and eventually ended up researching child development at the University of Minnesota. He currently makes his living as a full-time author. He’s been married for over 40 years to a marvelous woman who is a retired attorney. He makes his home in St. Paul, a city he dearly loves.

Krueger writes a mystery series set in the north woods of Minnesota. His protagonist is Cork O’Connor, the former sheriff of Tamarack County and a man of mixed heritage—part Irish and part Ojibwe. His work has received a number of awards, including the Minnesota Book Award, the Loft-McKnight Fiction Award, the Anthony Award, the Barry Award, the Dilys Award, and the Friends of American Writers Prize. His last five novels were all New York Times bestsellers.

"Ordinary Grace," his stand-alone novel published in 2013, received the Edgar Award, given by the Mystery Writers of America in recognition for the best novel published in that year. "Manitou Canyon," number fifteen in his Cork O’Connor series, was released in September 2016. Visit his website at www.williamkentkrueger.com.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
15,862 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 5 September 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 28 April 2017
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 15 July 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 4 August 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 20 December 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 5 October 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 13 October 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 24 November 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

R T Twinem
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotive and soul-searching
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 April 2018
Verified Purchase
21 people found this helpful
Report abuse
TW286
5.0 out of 5 stars ... (nothing lower than a 4) the bar was set pretty high for this one
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 August 2017
Verified Purchase
20 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Book Bonkers
4.0 out of 5 stars Coming of Age Can Hurt...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 March 2018
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Siltone
5.0 out of 5 stars There’s nothing ‘ordinary’ about this novel.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 December 2021
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Mr. John Frank Herbert
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Enough Superlatives for this one.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 July 2021
Verified Purchase
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?