In stock.
UK imports may differ from local products. Additional terms apply. Learn More.

Amazon Global Store

  • International products have separate terms and are sold from abroad and may differ from local products including fit, age rating, and language of product, labeling, or instructions, or plugs (you may require an adapter).
  • Manufacturer warranty may not apply but you may have other rights under law.
  • Learn more about Amazon Global Store
$$21.73 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon UK
Sold by
Ships from
Amazon UK
Sold by

Puccini: Tosca (Royal Opera Ho

4.8 out of 5 stars 532 ratings

Additional DVD options
Amazon Price
New from Used from
DVD 1-Disc Version
$21.73 $33.31
DVD 1-Disc Version

Enhance your purchase

Genre Music Video & Concerts
Format Import
Language Italian
Number of discs 1

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • Puccini: Tosca (Royal Opera Ho
  • +
  • Puccini: La Bohme
  • +
  • Verdi: Aida
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items dispatch sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Angela Gheorghiu, an iconic artist with a beautifulvoice and a star quality that dazzles on stage, captivatedthe world in her role as Tosca, at the Royal OperaHouse in July 2011. Puccini s ever-popular opera, Tosca,returned to The Royal Opera House, where the stellarcast included Jonas Kaufmann, Bryn Terfel, the RoyalOpera Chorus and the Orchestra of the Royal OperaHouse, who were under the baton of Antonio Pappano,the Music Director of the Royal Opera House. With theall-star cast, opera history was in the making and was, byfar, the hottest ticket in town. For the majority of us whowere not lucky enough to be there, it has been capturedon this DVD, exclusively released by EMI Classics.Gheorghiu received much praise and accolades as Tosca.Laura Kate Wilson of Bachtrack wrote As Gheorghiudelivered the chilling O Scarpia, avanti a Dio! ( Oh Scarpia,we shall meet before God! ) and that final heart-wrenchingrefrain rose from the orchestra pit it was clear that opera historyhad been made, and I felt incredibly lucky to have witnessedit. Rupert Christiansen of the Telegraph added that Thevelvety smoothness of (Angela Gheorghiu s) line and tone wassomething to marvel at. The set includes pieces such as the Act I Te Deum, Vissid arte and E lucevan le stele. Jonathan Kent s detailedproduction draws on the full historical backdrop ofRome in 1800, a political world of control and suspicion,beautifully evoked in Paul Brown s lavish designs. Thepageantry of church ritual, the darkness of a broodingstudy with its hidden torture chamber and the falseoptimism of the light of a Roman dawn all throw intorelief the love of the beautiful diva Tosca, the idealismof her lover Cavaradossi and the deadly, destructiveobsession of the malevolent Chief of Police, Scarpia.Drama, passion, and fabulous music.1. Opening Titles. - Puccini. Tosca 2. Ah! Finalmente!. - Puccini. Tosca 3. E sempre lava!. - Puccini. Tosca 4. Dammi i Colori!. - Puccini. Tosca 5. Gente l dentro!. - Puccini. Tosca 6

Product details

  • Aspect Ratio ‏ : ‎ 1.78:1
  • Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ No
  • Language ‏ : ‎ Italian
  • Product dimensions ‏ : ‎ 30 x 1 x 30 cm; 111.98 Grams
  • Item Model Number ‏ : ‎ 35225097
  • Media Format ‏ : ‎ Import
  • Release date ‏ : ‎ 15 October 2012
  • Actors ‏ : ‎ GHEORGHIU,ANGELA
  • Dubbed: ‏ : ‎ English, French, German, Japanese
  • Subtitles: ‏ : ‎ French, German, English, Japanese
  • Language ‏ : ‎ Japanese (DTS 5.1), German (DTS 5.1), Italian (PCM Stereo), Japanese (Surround), German (Surround), Italian (DTS 5.1 Surround), English (DTS 5.1), English (Surround), French (DTS 5.1), French (Surround)
  • Studio ‏ : ‎ PLGCLASSDOM
  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B008K7RGA2
  • Number of discs ‏ : ‎ 1
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.8 out of 5 stars 532 ratings

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
532 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 December 2017
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Report abuse
W. A. D.
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
4.0 out of 5 stars with filmed live sessions and scenes which cannot easily be staged
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 March 2015
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
5.0 out of 5 stars I admit to not being a great authority on opera I am familiar with The Magic ...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 April 2016
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative Entertainment
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 November 2014
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse