Buying Options

Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $6.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

The Tales of Beedle the Bard: A Harry Potter Hogwarts Library Book by [J.K. Rowling]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Tales of Beedle the Bard: A Harry Potter Hogwarts Library Book Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 8,615 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$6.99

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Review

A moralist, a magician and a great liberal, Beedle is to the wizarding world what Hans Christian Andersen is to Muggles (non-magical people). Refreshingly original . and surprisingly satisfying. The Tales of Beedle the Bard contains all the playful humour and down-to-earth detail that makes her wizarding world so seductive ― Sunday Times

Five enchanting tales told with the author's confident mixture of wit and wariness tell lessons for both children and parents alike ―
Sunday Express

The stories are simple, original, diverse, witty and wise . . . a storytelling treat ―
Books for Keeps --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

From the Inside Flap

The Tales of Beedle the Bard, a wizarding classic, first came to Muggle readers' attention in the book known as Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Now, thanks to Hermione Granger's new translation from the ancient runes, we present this stunning edition with an introduction, notes, and illustrations by J.K. Rowling, and extensive commentary by Albus Dumbledore.



Never before have Muggles been privy to these richly imaginative tales: The Wizard and the Hopping Pot, The Fountain of Fair Fortune, The Warlock's Hairy Heart, Babbitty Rabbitty and Her Cackling Stump, and of course The Tale of the Three Brothers. But not only are they the equal of fairy tales we know and love, reading them gives new insight into the wizarding world.



This purchase also represents another very important form of giving: From every sale of this book, Scholastic will give its net proceeds to Lumos, an international non-profit organization founded by J.K. Rowling that works globally to transform the lives of disadvantaged children. wearelumos.org

--This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B01F3ET2RE
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Pottermore Publishing (9 May 2016)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 3422 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 73 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 8,615 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

J.K. Rowling is best-known as the author of the seven Harry Potter books, which were published between 1997 and 2007. The enduringly popular adventures of Harry, Ron and Hermione have gone on to sell over 500 million copies, be translated into over 80 languages and made into eight blockbuster films.

Alongside the Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling also wrote three short companion volumes for charity: Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, in aid of Comic Relief, and The Tales of Beedle the Bard, in aid of Lumos. The companion books and original series are all available as audiobooks.

In 2016, J.K. Rowling collaborated with playwright Jack Thorne and director John Tiffany to continue Harry’s story in a stage play, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, which opened in London, followed by the USA and Australia.

In the same year, she made her debut as a screenwriter with the film Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Inspired by the original companion volume, it was the first in a series of new adventures featuring wizarding world magizoologist Newt Scamander. The second, Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, was released in 2018 and the third, Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore is to be released in April 2022.

Both the screenplays, as well as the script of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, are also available as books.

Fans of Fantastic Beasts and Harry Potter can find out more at www.wizardingworld.com.

J.K. Rowling also writes novels for adults. The Casual Vacancy was published in 2012 and adapted for television in 2015. Under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith, she is the author of the highly acclaimed ‘Strike’ crime series, featuring private detective Cormoran Strike and his partner Robin Ellacott. The first of these, The Cuckoo’s Calling, was published to critical acclaim in 2013, at first without its author’s true identity being known. The Silkworm followed in 2014, Career of Evil in 2015 and Lethal White in 2018. All four books have been adapted for television by the BBC and HBO. The fifth book, Troubled Blood, is now out and was also an instant bestseller.

J.K. Rowling’s 2008 Harvard Commencement speech was published in 2015 as an illustrated book, Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination, sold in aid of Lumos and university-wide financial aid at Harvard.

In 2020, J.K. Rowling released in free online instalments, The Ickabog, an original fairy tale, which she wrote over ten years ago as a bedtime story for her younger children. She decided to share the personal family favourite to help entertain children, parents and carers confined at home during the Covid-19 lockdown.

The story is now published as a book (hardback, ebook and audio) in the English language, and is translated into 26 languages, each edition with its own unique illustrations by children. J.K. Rowling is donating her royalties from The Ickabog to her charitable trust, The Volant Charitable Trust, to assist vulnerable groups who have been particularly impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic in the UK and internationally.

J.K. Rowling’s latest children’s novel, The Christmas Pig, is out now. Illustrated by Jim Field, it’s the story of a little boy called Jack, and his beloved toy, Dur Pig, and the toy that replaces Dur Pig when he’s lost on Christmas Eve – the Christmas Pig. Together, Jack and the Christmas Pig embark on a magical journey to seek something lost, and to save the best friend Jack has ever known.

As well as receiving an OBE and Companion of Honour for services to children’s literature, J.K. Rowling has received many other awards and honours, including France’s Legion d’Honneur, Spain’s Prince of Asturias Award and Denmark’s Hans Christian Andersen Award.

www.jkrowling.com

Image: Photography Debra Hurford Brown © J.K. Rowling 2018

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
8,615 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 30 November 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 18 July 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 6 April 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 13 May 2021
Reviewed in Australia on 5 August 2018
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 23 February 2020
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 30 November 2020
Reviewed in Australia on 21 October 2018
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing book by my favourite author!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 February 2020
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Ajay Nandeti
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
Reviewed in India on 4 November 2018
Verified Purchase
39 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Lexa L.
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 April 2022
Verified Purchase
Vocalistuk
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and Entertaining
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 December 2017
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
G. Stephenson
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST LOOKING BOOK OF ALL TIME!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 December 2010
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?